Nokia launched it’s long awaited smartphone N8 a few days ago for Rs 26259. Yesterday I got a chance to use it and unfortunately I found it disappointing. Being a proud owner of  Samsung Galaxy S, I couldn’t help but compare N8 with my phone.

Writing about it’s specifications is futile as it is already on so many sites floating with the reviews and views and videos. Instead what I intend to write  here is a quick comparison between Nokia N8 and Samsung Galaxy S.

The first obvious point that comes to my mind is Camera. Nokia has placed a giant 12 megapixel camera poking out of the body with Carl Zeiss optic lens and a Xenon flash in its new gadget while Galaxy has got a simple 5 MP with no flash.

The bulging camera design gives an attractive feel on the first look. Obviously the sensor is too large to be contained within the phone’s relatively slim dimensions, so this arrangement was necessary. But on comparison I found the photos clicked on a N8 were not as attractive as were supposed to be owing to much advertised 12 MP camera. Galaxy has much better quality from a 5 MP but that’s just me.

This statement brings me to my second point Screen. Maybe the difference is of the screen. N8 has a 3.5 inches 360×640 pixels Amoled Capacitive Touch Screen while Galaxy got a super 4 inches 480×800 pixels Super Amoled Capacitive Touch Screen. So from where I judge might be the differnce of screen and not the camera itself. I didn’t got a chance to transfer the images from N8 to my system for better analysis but the point is at that moment I was not at all satisfied with the quality. be it the camera or screen. The combinations wasn’t doing the miracles it is supposed to do. Video wise too I would rate it lower than Galaxy which I think is much better in HD recording. The low resolution of N8 is a massive disappointment.

My third point of comparison is Memory and CPU. Both have got a massive 16 GB internal memory with an expandable memory card slot of 32 GB. With the power they both have, I think its wiser on their part to provide such huge storage capability.

But…a big but comes in picture when stating the CPU. While Galaxy boast to have a Arm Cortex A8 1 GHz processor (which to my personal experience is under clocked to 800 Mhz by factory setting maybe to save battery), my dear Nokia still hangs out with Arm 11 680 MHz Processor and a 3d Graphics HW accelerator. Why do they not upgraded themselves. They launched N8 at a time when we are seeing a lot of 1 gig processors. This step can only dissolve their hope of future enhancements that might have been possible.

Fourth point to mention is Connectivity. Nokia has out done Galaxy S. Apart from standard Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and micro USB the two other remarkable and worth mentioning features are the USB on the go support and HDMI port. Now that’s something I always miss in Galaxy.

Browsing and navigation are a few things that are boring and so much resembling to symbian earlier edition. While I very much respect the Symbian OS (I grew up with it after all), it’s true that iOS and Android are a fad now. Symbian ^3 is a big let down. It does all things required but with extra efforts and extra clicks. We need a better and sensitive OS certainly.

Well this is all from my side. For further reviews about touch sensitivity, build and material, applications and etc, we have the google god which is easily accessible from both N8 and Galaxy or if you don’t own any and planning to buy one of these then take my advice and go for Samsung Galaxy S which by far is the best of all in the Ivy League Smartphone till date.

BTW Nokia has released its new model in 5 vibrant colours, if it makes any difference to some. Well not to me atleast.

Comments
  1. […] rest is here:  Samsung Galaxy S vs Nokia N8 « Virtuosity – Yet another blog By admin | category: AUSTRALIAN National University | tags: coming, coming-dark, hero, […]

  2. Tum aur tumhari Samsung Galaxy aksar yeh baatein kiya karte hai…

  3. Cesar_Sete says:

    “But on comparison I found the photos clicked on a N8 were not as attractive as were supposed to be owing to much advertised 12 MP camera”
    I`ve stopped reading here.

    • anu-mantra says:

      Thanx for visiting Cesar…But You should have read further
      “Maybe the difference is of the screen. N8 has a 3.5 inches 360×640 pixels Amoled Capacitive Touch Screen while Galaxy got a super 4 inches 480×800 pixels Super Amoled Capacitive Touch Screen. So from where I judge might be the differnce of screen and not the camera itself.”

  4. Hi, i just thought i’d post and let you know your blogs layout is really messed up on the K-Melonbrowser. Anyhow keep up the good work.

  5. Torh says:

    your comparation is so poor, you missing a lot of things to be fair

    • anu-mantra says:

      Certainly, I am missing a lot…But I already mentioned it as a qick comparison.
      But what I compare is what I stand for…I didn’t found it interesting…And I’m sure if I leave the camera stuff behind and take things that I’m missing, N8 will still lag behind GALAXY S…I think N900 is still a milestone for nokia and is far better than N8 in power. They should have worked more towards maemo instead…

  6. Howdy there, are you having difficulties with the hosting? I needed to refresh the page about huge number of times in order to get the page to run!

  7. makuchaku says:

    I used to be a Nokia loyalist but.. I think they are loosing out in the smartphone rat race! Why they care not coming up with better hardware is something that still eludes me. N900 was a fantastic platform – but had a nearly shitty processor.

    The usability, UI, look & feel does matter – but nothing as compared to raw processing speed & memory availability!

  8. There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also.
    Keep working ,great job!

  9. Thanks very much for writing all of the awesome content! Looking forward to reading more blogs!

  10. samsung says:

    Just want to say your article is as amazing.

    The clarity in your submit is just nice and that i
    could think you’re a professional on this subject.
    Well along with your permission allow me to seize your RSS feed to keep
    updated with coming near near post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please continue the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

